Previous Library Award Winners

OUS Libraries and Press awards scholarships annually to student employees. These employees have demonstrated themselves to be trustworthy, hard-working, and invaluable members of the team. Awards are made possible by endowments from two separate gifts.

Carl Totten Outstanding Student Employee Award

The Carl Totten Award was first established in 1995 in memory of Carl E. Totten '30, of Los Angeles. Winifred "Winnie" Wilberding Totten '30, wished to memorialize her husband and the financial difficulties they faced after graduation in 1930. The award honors the sacrifices that today's students endure in order to get a higher education, recognizing student library employees who have a financial need, have provided outstanding service to library patrons while maintaining an active and successful student career.

2020 Recipients

Maya Bergmann, Rodrigo Fernandez-Ortega, Garrett Caleen

2019 Recipients

Emma-Leigh Joslin, Natalie Pilar

2018 Recipients

Rebecca Alfaro  Heather Bennett  Linh Ho  Natalie Pilar

Left to right: Rebecca Alfaro, Heather Bennett, Linh Ho, Natalie Pilar

2017 Recipients

Nicki Anderson Sarah Benham Ryo Fabrega Marilu Solis

Left to Right: Nicki Anderson, Sarah Benham, Ryo Fabrega, Marilu Solis

2016 Recipients


Left to Right: Nicki Anderson, Heather Bennett, Ruth Hoffman, Sefanya Hope, Grant Howell, Rachel Sweet, and Larissa Zens

2015 Recipients


Left to Right: Brittney Main, Alex McFerrin, Haley McLaren, and Cora Seagraves

2014 Recipients

Thanh NguyenNicole GregoireGjeryl FajardoKristin BatesMatthew Schuck

Left to Right: Thanh Nguyen, Nicole Gregoire, Gjeryl Fajardo, Kristin Bates, Matthew Schuck

2013 Recipients

Kallie McKayLauren MayerMeyee ChaRachel CampbellRegina Pimentel

Left to Right: Kallie McKay, Lauren Mayer, Meyee Cha, Rachel Campbell, Regina Pimentel

2012 Recipients

Christy TurnerKelsey OckertRichard KimuraBryan KrawczkIngrid OckertAmy Zhang

Left to Right: Christy Turner, Kelsey Ockert, Richard Kitamura, Bryan Krawczk, Ingrid Ockert, Amy Zhang

2011 Recipients

Rosie LeungMary PhanSergio Trujillo

Left to Right: Rosie Leung, Mary Phan, Sergio Trujillo

2010 Recipients

Eric HeplerJoe NguyenDoug SchulteStephanie Silver

Left to Right: Eric Hepler, Joe Nguyen, Doug Schulte, Stephanie Silver

2009 Recipients

Melanie BishopDavid MoynihanTrevor SandgatheDoug SchulteBrittany Young

Left to Right: Melanie Bishop, David Moynihan, Trevor Sandgathe, Doug Schulte, Brittany Young

2008 Recipients

Karen ChaSara MintonyeAnna OpoienChristy Toilver

Left to Right: Karen Cha, Sara Mintonye, Anna Opoien, Christy Toilver

2007 Recipients

Nathan BrunerDerek Han

Left to Right: Nathan Bruner, Derek Han

2006 Recipients

Michelle CassinelliPhilip VueApril Zeller

Left to Right: Michelle Cassinelli, Philip Vue, April Zeller

2005 Recipients

Melissa Barnhart & Suzzette Edwards

Left to Right: Melissa Barnhart, Suzette Edwards, (not shown) Denny Palmer

2004 Recipients

Amber BesseyMary CooperKatie Rutherford

Left to Right: Amber Bessey, Mary Cooper, Katie Rutherford

Alice Kathryn Kidder Outstanding Student Employee Award

The Alice Kathryn Kidder Outstanding Student Employee Award Fund was established to honor Alice Kathryn Kidder Evans. Kidder was an Oregon State College alumna who graduated with a degree in Commerce in 1924. She played on the women’s basketball team. After graduating, she had various jobs. She and her husband lived in Ithaca, New York where they worked for Ithaca Gun Works. She was a very active alumni member and served as a member of the OSU President’s Club and the Council of Regents until the 1990s.

The Kidder Award recognizes and rewards students who provide exemplary service to their unit and to library patrons.

Alice Kidder Evans also contributed photos along with her father, Andrew Kidder, of campus buildings and students to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center located in the Valley Library. The Alice Kidder Evans Photograph Collection shows campus life through photos taken from 1889 to 1919.

2020 Recipients

Guillermo Reyes, McKenna Marshall, Katy Roach, Eric Mason, Stefanie Hood, Isaiah McGuire

2019 Recipients







Left to right: Amreen Hussaini, Abigail Mason