Oregon State University has long supported the broadest possible distribution of the scholarship of its faculty and students:

  • In 2005, Faculty Senate passed an Open Access resolution.
  • Beginning in 2007, all university theses and dissertations are deposited to the ScholarsArchive@OSU open access digital repository.
  • In March 2009, University Library Faculty pass first library faculty OA policy in the world.
  • In March 2010, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences faculty pass OA policy.
  • In April 2011, in anticipation of the merger with COAS, the Department of Geosciences faculty pass OA policy.
  • In 2011, College of Forestry faculty pass OA policy.
  • In August 2011, OSU becomes a member of the Coalition for Open Access Policy Institutions.
  • In November 2011, OSU signs the Berlin Declaration on Open Access.
  • In 2011, the entire history of Extension and Experiment Station Communications publications is available open access in ScholarsArchive@OSU.
  • Inaugural Class of Open Access 'Hall of Famers' was established in 2011 to acknowledge those who have worked to make OSU scholarship freely available online.
  • In June 2013, Faculty Senate passed an Open Access policy.


FAQ video from 2012


Michael Boock, Associate Professor/Scholarly Communication Librarian